I Remember You


The following (from the book BLUE STAR LOVE) is excerpted from a letter Elvis wrote to an ex-girlfriend who had come to one of his Las Vegas shows in 1974. She and her husband had visited him backstage after the show and she had been very concerned about his appearance, knowing he must be quite ill. She later wrote to him about this – her concern – and he replied in a letter to her. . .

I guess I am born in the wrong time period as I am out of step with my peers and the expression of my emotions. They hold everything in and suffer and I let it all come to the surface and suffer. I think its hard both ways… to have openness is good I guess. Gooder, as Lisa would say, gooder and gooder. You’re a better judge than I about these type things.

You asked me if I remember you. I do. I remember that early morning when we stood on the balcony and watched that Vegas Sunrise and that air was crisp and you said you loved Wintertime best. I looked at you and your eyes were like the morning glories growing around the back of our old house in Tupelo and it made me cry, and you thought I was sick, but it was just the beauty of that time… and you. So I do, and I will never forget. Just remember me in return.

Love ya,
“Elvis Presley

Leave a Reply

